Top 15 Things to do in Ubud

Ubud, the cultural heart of Bali, is a vibrant paradise that offers a unique blend of natural beauty, spiritual traditions, and artistic expression. Whether you're a nature enthusiast, a yoga lover, or an art aficionado, Ubud has something to offer everyone. Here are the top 15 things to do in Ubud to make your visit an unforgettable experience!

Things to do in Ubud-Ayung River Rafting

Ayung River Rafting is a popular adventure activity in Bali, Indonesia. It involves navigating the rapids of the Ayung River, which is the longest river on the island. This activity is suitable for all ages and provides a thrilling and fun experience amidst the beautiful Balinese scenery.

The rafting journey typically covers around 12 kilometers and lasts for approximately two hours. Along the way, participants can enjoy the lush tropical rainforest, stunning waterfalls, and interesting rock carvings.

✨Tip for visiting: Wear comfortable and water-resistant clothing and footwear. You are likely to get wet during the rafting experience, so it's best to be prepared.

Ayung River Rafting Reviews:

The 2-hour rafting is excellent value for money. I have never given an evaluation on Trip.com. I participated in a rafting and harvested the experience of watching the waterfall and fighting the water. The whole tropical rainforest landscape is very good. The waterfall coach will help take pictures. There are many companies with rafting projects. The journey from Trip.com is still long enough.

Things to do in Ubud-Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary

The Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary, also known as the Ubud Monkey Forest, is a nature reserve and Hindu temple complex in Ubud, Bali, Indonesia. It is home to approximately 700 Balinese long-tailed monkeys.

The sanctuary is a popular tourist attraction in Bali and is often visited for its lush greenery, ancient temples, and the playful monkeys. The forest also serves as an important spiritual, educational, and conservation center for the local community.

✨Tip for visiting: Respect the monkeys and their habitat. Do not feed, touch, or tease them. They are wild animals and can become aggressive.

Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary Reviews:

I thought it was not big, and I could walk around for more than an hour. There are quite a lot of monkeys and quite well-behaved. The keepers gave them sweet potatoes and corn. Can't feed, the leftover bread they snatched in the morning, scared. Children like to see animals.

Things to do in Ubud-Ubud Palace

Ubud Palace, also known as Puri Saren Agung, is a historical building complex situated in Ubud, Bali, Indonesia. It was the official residence of the royal family of Ubud and serves as a cultural repository of arts, dance and literature.

The palace's traditional Balinese architecture, including its ornate wood carvings and lush garden settings, is a major landmark in Ubud. It also hosts nightly dance performances, showcasing traditional Balinese culture and arts.

✨Tip for visiting: Visit early in the morning to avoid the crowds and to enjoy the palace in a more peaceful and serene atmosphere.

Ubud Palace Reviews:

Ubud Palace was once provided to the Ubud Dynasty royal family to live in, the appearance is majestic, the interior decoration is luxurious, the architectural style is unique, the stone carvings are very distinctive, exquisite and elegant, like the traditional culture of Bali should not be missed!

Things to do in Ubud-Museum Puri Lukisan

Museum Puri Lukisan is a museum located in Ubud, Bali, Indonesia. It is the oldest art museum in Bali which specializes in modern traditional Balinese paintings and wood carvings. The museum was established by Dutch painter Rudolf Bonnet and aims to preserve and exhibit the rich art and culture of Bali.

The museum houses a vast collection of works from Balinese artists, providing a comprehensive representation of the different styles and periods of Balinese art.

✨Tip for visiting: Plan your visit in the morning or late afternoon to avoid the heat and crowds. Also, take your time to appreciate the vast collection of traditional and modern Balinese art.

Museum Puri Lukisan Reviews:

Nice place! This is a place with some nice ponds, gardens, paintings and sculptures with Balinese culture. Very calming surroundings. The tickets we bought were included with some nice buffet lunch. Kids loved this place as this is very spacious for them to play and have fun.

Things to do in Ubud-Ubud

Ubud is a town on the Indonesian island of Bali, renowned for its traditional crafts and dance. It's surrounded by rainforest and terraced rice paddies, as well as Hindu temples and shrines, which are among Bali's most iconic landscapes.

Ubud is also known as a hub for Balinese culture where you can find numerous museums, such as the Blanco Renaissance Museum and the Puri Lukisan Museum. It's also a popular destination for yoga and wellness retreats. The town's popularity grew after it was featured in the movie "Eat, Pray, Love".

✨Tip for visiting: Plan your visit during the dry season (April to October) to avoid heavy rainfall and enjoy outdoor activities like exploring the rice terraces, visiting temples, and walking through the Monkey Forest.

Ubud Reviews:

Take a close look to interesting fine stone carving statues in animals or arts are for decorative display or for religious purpose at all kinds of establishments like homes, restaurants, hotels, temples, museums etc.

Things to do in Ubud-Saraswati Temple

The Saraswati Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to the goddess Saraswati, who is recognized as the deity of knowledge, music, art, wisdom, and learning. The temple is located in various parts of India and Indonesia, with each having its own historical and cultural significance.

The architecture of these temples often reflects the traditional style of the region, and they are popular pilgrimage sites, especially during the festival of Saraswati Puja or Vasant Panchami.

✨Tip for visiting: Dress appropriately as it is a place of worship. Cover your shoulders and knees as a sign of respect.

Saraswati Temple Reviews:

it’s dedicated to honour the Hindu Goddess Saraswati. it’s beautifully decorated with fine arts and carvings. Centred by a huge lotus pond beautifully adorned when lotus bloomed. No entrance fee.

Things to do in Ubud-Pura Desa Ubud

Pura Desa Ubud is a Balinese Hindu temple located in the heart of Ubud, Bali, Indonesia. It is the main temple of Ubud village and is dedicated to the Hindu God, Brahma.

The temple is a significant spiritual and cultural landmark in Ubud, known for its intricate stone carvings and traditional Balinese architecture. It plays a central role in the religious life of the local community, hosting various ceremonies and festivals throughout the year.

✨Tip for visiting: As Pura Desa Ubud is a sacred Hindu temple, visitors are expected to dress respectfully.

Pura Desa Ubud Reviews

The Ubud Village Temple is a bit rural and pastoral. There is an oversized straw field outside the temple and a large coconut grove. Behind the coconut grove is a big archway. The metal carvings on the archway are very beautiful. The various statues of gods in the village temple are very Hindu.

Things to do in Ubud-Agung Rai Museum of Art

The Agung Rai Museum of Art, also known as ARMA, is located in Ubud, Bali, Indonesia. It was established by Balinese entrepreneur and art collector Agung Rai as a venue to preserve and promote Balinese art and culture.

The museum showcases a permanent collection of traditional and contemporary Balinese paintings and sculptures, as well as works by international artists. It also offers various cultural workshops, performances, and lectures for visitors.

✨Tip for visiting: Plan your visit in the morning or late afternoon to avoid the heat and crowds. This will also allow you to enjoy the beautiful lighting for photography.

Agung Rai Museum of Art Reviews

A peaceful place to contemplate Bali culture and artFor amazing art in an amazing space the ARMA is unique, it is a huge area that encompasses beautiful grounds, multiple stages, a few different collection of contemporary and traditional art along with rotating exhibits and creative programming

Things to do in Ubud-Mount Batur Sunrise Trekking

Mount Batur Sunrise Trekking is a popular outdoor activity in Bali, Indonesia. It involves a trek up Mount Batur, an active volcano, to witness the breathtaking sunrise from the summit.

The trek usually starts in the early hours of the morning and takes about two hours to reach the top. Along the way, trekkers can enjoy the natural beauty of the mountain and its surroundings. Once at the top, the panoramic view of the sunrise, the lake below, and the surrounding mountains is truly a sight to behold.

✨Tip for visiting: The trek involves walking on uneven and, at times, steep terrains. Good footwear will not only make the trek easier but also prevent potential injuries.

Mount Batur Sunrise Trekking Reviews:

great experience. we had to wake up very early and it was quite a long hike but definitely worth the view. be aware, it is very cold at the top so bring extra layers. coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc available to buy at the top

Things to do in Ubud-Neka Art Museum

The Neka Art Museum is a popular cultural attraction located in Ubud, Bali, Indonesia. It was founded by Suteja Neka, a Balinese teacher who was passionate about preserving the rich artistic heritage of the region.

The museum houses a vast collection of traditional Balinese paintings, sculptures, and artifacts, as well as contemporary works from local and international artists. The collection is spread across several buildings, each showcasing different styles and periods of Balinese art.

✨Tip for visiting: To fully appreciate the museum, it's recommended to hire a guide or take an audio tour which provides detailed explanations about the artworks and their historical context.

Neka Art Museum Reviews:

an extensive art collection, including paintings, sculpture, crafts, and textile art. This collection includes works by renowned artists such as Raden Saleh, Affandi, Walter Spies, Arie Smit, and many more

Things to do in Ubud-Spa at Maya Ubud

The Spa at Maya Ubud is a luxury wellness retreat located in Bali, Indonesia. Nestled between the Petanu River valley and the verdant rice fields of Peliatan, the spa offers a tranquil setting for guests to unwind and rejuvenate.

It offers a wide range of treatments and therapies, including traditional Balinese massages, body scrubs, facials, and more, all designed to promote holistic wellness and relaxation.

✨Tip for visiting: To make the most of your visit, it is recommended to book your treatments in advance, especially during peak seasons, to ensure availability.

Spa at Maya Ubud Reviews:

The spa has a relaxed feeling when you come in, because there are beautiful gardens, birds and flowers, people feel that they have been away from the crowd, the environment in the spa is also great, the service is particularly thoughtful and meticulous

Things to do in Ubud-Four Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan

Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan is a luxurious 5-star resort nestled in the lush Ayung River Valley in Bali, Indonesia. It offers a unique blend of natural beauty, Balinese art and culture, and exceptional service.

The resort features 60 suites and villines, each with a private plunge pool and terrace offering stunning views of the surrounding forest. The resort also provides a range of amenities including a spa, fitness center, two restaurants, and a cooking academy.

✨Tip for visiting: Make sure to book a session at the Sacred River Spa for a traditional Balinese healing ritual. It is also recommended to participate in the resort's yoga classes.

Four Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan Reviews:

Shanyan Four Seasons Resort is situated in a quiet and secluded valley. It crosses a wooden bridge and goes up the valley. It arrives at the lotus pond in the air and enjoys the delicacies with local characteristics, like a private paradise.

Things to do in Ubud-Gunung Lebah Temple

Gunung Lebah Temple, also known as Pura Gunung Lebah, is a beautiful and significant Hindu temple located in Ubud, Bali, Indonesia. It is situated at the confluence of two rivers, the Campuhan and the Agung, and is surrounded by lush greenery.

The temple, whose name translates to "low mountain", is believed to be one of the oldest in Bali, dating back to the 8th century. It is known for its stunning architecture, intricate stone carvings, and serene atmosphere.

✨Tip for visiting: Dress appropriately when visiting Gunung Lebah Temple, as it is a place of worship. This means covering your shoulders and legs.

Gunung Lebah Temple Reviews:

This is a temple that can not be missed. How to say, it is not very big, but the layout and sculpture are very exquisite and delicate, with a sense of simplicity and vicissitudes.

Things to do in Ubud-Red Paddle Bali Adventures

Red Paddle Bali Adventures specialize in providing thrilling and unforgettable experiences through various water sports activities like stand up paddle boarding, snorkeling, and diving. They are known for their high-quality equipment, professional guides, and personalized service.

✨Tip for visiting: Make sure to book your adventure in advance, especially during peak tourist season. Also, don't forget to bring sun protection like sunscreen, a hat, and sunglasses as Bali can get quite hot.

Red Paddle Bali Adventures Reviews

A great experience!! Our guide Medhi did an excellent job explaining instructions and he was FUN! The river is gorgeous. Lots of steps up and down to access the river but well worth the climb! Definitely recommend!

Things to do in Ubud-The Blanco Renaissance Museum

The Blanco Renaissance Museum is an art museum located in Ubud, Bali, Indonesia. The museum was established by the late Don Antonio Blanco, a Spanish-American artist who was known for his flamboyant style and love for Bali.

The museum showcases Blanco's artworks, including his paintings, collages, and illustrations, which are heavily influenced by Balinese culture and traditions. The museum also features a garden and a restaurant.

✨Tip for visiting: It's recommended to hire a guide while visiting the museum. The guides are very knowledgeable about Blanco's life and his artworks, providing visitors with a deeper understanding and appreciation of the exhibits.

The Blanco Renaissance Museum Reviews

Bronco Renaissance Museum, beautiful gardens, interesting buildings, worth visiting. The architecture has Indonesian flavor and feeling. It looks very chronological. The Museum has a collection of Bronco's works from different periods. You can see it for friends who have plenty of time.